Août 2023:
Une inondation arrive

Table des matières
    Ajouter un en-tête pour commencer à générer la table des matières
    Remonter en haut

    Une inondation arrive (dans le bon sens)

    Ce n'est un secret pour personne qu'au cours des dernières années, les maçons de Californie ont fait un effort concerté pour partager plus largement les informations sur la fraternité - et les gens le remarquent. Rien que le mois dernier, le #IAMason La campagne s'est avérée un énorme succès, les publications participantes atteignant près de trois fois plus de personnes que la campagne de l'année dernière (voir ci-dessous pour plus de détails). Cette plus grande portée s'accompagne (espérons-le) d'un plus grand intérêt pour la franc-maçonnerie et (espérons-le) d'un plus grand nombre de demandes de renseignements. Et c'est quelque chose auquel les loges doivent se préparer, et vite.


    Résumé de la campagne #ImAMason

    Juillet a marqué la deuxième année #Je suis un Mason campagne, notre effort désormais annuel sur les réseaux sociaux pour mettre en évidence la fraternité et la signification incroyable que nos membres tirent de l'appartenance. Alors que nous diffusions principalement vers ceux de Californie, l'effort a attiré une attention considérable dans les juridictions étrangères. Cette année, des loges d'aussi loin que Kuala Lumpur et l'Angleterre ont participé. Des simples mises à jour de statut Facebook aux vidéos et selfies, ces publications ont attiré près de 20,000 6 personnes dans des discussions autour du hashtag en ligne. Au total, ceux-ci ont touché plus de XNUMX millions de personnes dans le monde.

    Comment cela se compare-t-il à la portée de l'année dernière? Eh bien, 2023 a vu plus de 3 fois plus de personnes s'engager dans la campagne, ce qui a entraîné 3 fois plus d'impact par rapport à la campagne de l'année dernière. Bravo à tous ceux qui ont participé !

    Un retour à l'époque où nous avons emménagé dans notre nouvelle maison et maintenant !! J'adore toujours !! C'est un grand jour pour la franc-maçonnerie ! . . . #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    Que la lumière soit! . . . #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    L’adage selon lequel le simple fait de fréquenter une loge ne fait pas en soi de quelqu’un un maçon résonne d’une profonde vérité. Cette analogie, riche de sa simplicité, dévoile l'essence de notre quête maçonnique. Un témoignage du voyage transformateur qui va au-delà de la simple présence physique au sein de nos Lodges. La maçonnerie exige de nous un engagement actif qui transcende la participation. C'est dans l'application assidue des enseignements de notre métier dans la tapisserie de notre vie quotidienne, dans le ciselage méticuleux de nos pierres brutes, que nous incarnons véritablement les principes maçonniques. La Loge sert de sanctuaire d'illumination, d'espace où les outils symboliques de notre métier nous sont accordés, non pas pour une simple admiration, mais pour une application délibérée. Être dans une Loge, c’est se positionner au seuil du potentiel. Suivre le chemin d’un maçon, c’est entrer dans le domaine de la transformation. C'est un voyage marqué non pas par le caractère physique de notre présence mais par notre engagement. Le vrai maçon construit dans le temple de son cœur un sanctuaire de vertu, un phare de lumière pour le monde. Ce voyage est ce qui distingue un maçon. C’est un chemin qui nécessite une recherche diligente de la connaissance, un engagement inébranlable en faveur de la croissance personnelle et un dévouement inébranlable à l’élévation de l’humanité. La Loge, avec ses traditions et ses rituels sacrés, est le creuset au sein duquel nos idéaux maçonniques sont à la fois forgés et testés. Pourtant, c'est en vivant ces idéaux, au-delà des portes de la Loge, que nous devenons véritablement maçons. www.PointLomaMasonicLodge.com #ImAMason #Freemasonry #Masonic #Masonry #Freemason #SquareAndCompass #Brotherhood #Lodge #WorshipfulMaster #MasterMason #MasonicBrotherhood #MasonicTemple #MasonicCharity #TravelingMan #Freemasons #Initiation #Freemasonic #MasonicHistory #MasonicRitual #ScottishRite #YorkRite
    Un retour à l'époque où nous avons emménagé dans notre nouvelle maison et maintenant !! J'adore toujours !! C'est un grand jour pour la franc-maçonnerie ! . . . #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    Frère. Bob Walters et sa grand-mère qui était membre de l'Eastern Star ! Écoutez-le ici dans l'épisode 80 : Un nouveau maître maçon ! www.TravelingManPodcast.com. . . #freemason_world #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    Que la lumière soit! . . . #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    Frère. Bob Walters avec RWB Jim Hall et les frères de Paramuthia Lodge No. 25. Écoutez tout cela et plus encore dans l'épisode 80 : Un nouveau maître maçon ! www.TravelingManPodcast.com. . . #freemason_world #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons


    Transformer les publications en prospects

    Jordan Yelinek, le grand secrétaire adjoint et directeur des services aux membres, est optimiste quant à ce que des efforts comme celui-ci signifient pour les membres à l'avenir. "Nous allons voir un afflux important de prospects et les loges doivent s'y préparer", déclare Yelinek. Au cours des deux dernières années, la Grande Loge de Californie a constitué une équipe de trois « membres conseillers » dont le travail consiste à accueillir et à examiner les prospects qui font des demandes via la Grande Loge (principalement en ligne). L'année dernière seulement, plus de 5,000 XNUMX de ces prospects ont contacté franc-maçon.org. "Nous attirons des gens du monde entier qui nous contactent", déclare Yelinek. "Et pour ceux qui vivent en dehors de notre État, nous faisons notre part pour les diriger vers leur propre juridiction." Mais pour la plupart, les personnes qui contactent Grand Lodge vivent ici en Californie, et c'est là que le vrai travail commence. "Notre équipe sélectionne ces prospects pour s'assurer qu'ils sont éligibles à l'adhésion, et sur ces plus de 5,000 4,200 demandes l'année dernière, nous avons transmis environ XNUMX XNUMX membres potentiels à nos loges."

    C'est une moyenne d'environ 10 prospects par loge, ce qui n'est pas un nombre insignifiant et certainement assez pour submerger une loge qui n'est pas prête à y faire face. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé ce qu'un lodge peut faire pour gérer les prospects, Yelinek recommande une version de la «méthode Take 5».

    Dans cette méthode, un prospect devrait avoir deux hôtes, qui devraient accueillir le prospect à trois réunions « pour vous connaître », qui devraient être suivies en invitant le prospect à un minimum de quatre événements de loge. L'ensemble du processus devrait prendre cinq mois. C'est compris?

    • Un prospect
    • Deux hôtes
    • Trois rencontres
    • Quatre événements de lodge
    • Cinq mois

    Le but d'avoir deux hôtes est de fournir une redondance au cas où l'un des hôtes ne serait pas en mesure d'assister à l'une des réunions. Ces hôtes devraient faire partie d'un «comité d'accueil» plus large dont le travail consiste à établir le premier contact avec un prospect suite à la recommandation de la Grande Loge (ou chaque fois que quelqu'un s'approche directement de la loge). Les membres du comité d'accueil devraient participer aux réunions « pour faire connaissance » afin que le prospect assiste à un événement de la loge, qu'il puisse reconnaître trois ou quatre personnes et se sentir plus chez lui.

    "Les lodges ne devraient pas se sentir obligés de suivre ce modèle exact", déclare Yelinek. "N'hésitez pas à vous adapter si nécessaire." Mais en fin de compte, les lodges doivent disposer d'un modèle de gestion des prospects, car, selon Yelinek, nos efforts de sensibilisation "ne font qu'effleurer la surface".

    Rencontrez Justin Ortega, nouveau représentant des services aux membres

    Le département des services aux membres de la Grande Loge est en pleine croissance - et c'est une bonne nouvelle pour les loges du monde entier. Avec une plus grande capacité à recevoir et à diriger les prospects en ligne vers les loges les plus proches (ou les plus pratiques) d'eux, nous ferons des progrès significatifs vers l'augmentation du nombre de membres dans tout l'État. Ici, apprenez à connaître notre plus récent ajout à l'équipe, Justin Ortega.

    LE MENEUR: Bienvenue Justine. Pouvez-vous nous parler un peu de vous ? Quel est votre lien avec la franc-maçonnerie ?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA : J'ai été élevé comme maître maçon en 2022 après avoir suspendu ma pétition depuis 2020 en raison de COVID-19, lorsque ma loge mère ne délivrait pas de diplômes. Je suis actuellement membre de Surfside Lodge n ° 112 à Oceanside, près de San Diego, sous la juridiction du Très Vénérable Prince Hall Grande Loge de Californie, ainsi qu'un membre du chapitre 4 de la Sainte Arche Royale de Mt. Moriah. Cette année, j'ai été nommée secrétaire adjointe de ma loge. J'ai eu la chance d'en savoir plus sur le bureau du secrétaire et d'un ancien maître très expérimenté de notre loge avec une quantité énorme de connaissances et de sagesse. Il m'apprend quelque chose de nouveau chaque jour et incarne l'expression «rendre les bons hommes meilleurs». 

    LE MENEUR: Et comment décririez-vous votre travail ici avec la Grande Loge de Californie ?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA : Je suis maintenant conseiller en adhésion pour les maçons de Californie, que j'ai commencé le mois dernier. Avant ce travail, j'étais en service actif dans le Corps des Marines, où j'ai été déployé plus de 10 fois en Irak, en Afghanistan, en Malaisie, en Afrique du Nord, en Géorgie, au Japon et en Corée. Après 22 ans, j'ai pris ma retraite de l'armée et j'ai obtenu mon diplôme en gestion des ressources humaines et j'ai travaillé comme responsable des ressources humaines dans une société de sécurité privée avant d'avoir cette fantastique opportunité de travailler pour les maçons de Californie.

    LE MENEUR: Quelle a été la chose la plus surprenante (ou intéressante ou passionnante) que vous ayez découverte pendant votre temps de travail pour GL ?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA : Il y a énormément d'infrastructures qui soutiennent la fraternité. J'ai été très surpris de voir combien de personnes formidables de tous les horizons travaillent sans relâche dans les coulisses pour soutenir les loges et même les frères individuellement. Les personnes formidables qui composent l'équipe des services aux membres font chaque jour de grandes choses pour l'organisation. L'équipe des médias sociaux et des communications fait un excellent travail pour éduquer le public sur ce qu'est la franc-maçonnerie. Je crois sincèrement que la façon dont la Grande Loge de Californie fait des affaires servira d'exemple aux autres organisations maçonniques à suivre à l'avenir.


    Meilleures pratiques et conseils de diligence raisonnable pour les associations de salles concernant la réparation/l'amélioration des bâtiments

    Si la Hall Association de votre loge envisage ou se prépare à subir des réparations ou des améliorations, il est important de mettre tous les points sur les I et de croiser les T. Ici, l'équipe de Grand Lodge Real Estate a compilé quelques rappels utiles pour vous aider à éviter les erreurs courantes.

    • Obtenir au moins deux ou trois offres similaires et compétitives sur la même portée écrite des travaux.
    • L'étendue des travaux doit être complète et indiquer les spécifications sur les matériaux, l'équipement, etc.
    • Pour les projets de rénovation complexes, explorez la possibilité d'engager des professionnels pour produire des dessins de conception, des rapports d'ingénierie structurelle, des rapports sur les termites et d'autres inspections de bâtiments pertinentes dans le cadre de votre diligence raisonnable.
    • Assurez-vous que tous les documents d'offre/contrat font référence à l'association de la salle et non à la loge en tant que « client » ou « client ».
    • Les documents d'appel d'offres/de contrat doivent clairement définir un calendrier d'achèvement du projet et des informations sur la garantie
    • Le document de soumission/contrat doit contenir des modalités de paiement progressif, l'acompte ne dépassant pas 10 % du coût total du projet ou 1,000 XNUMX $, selon le moindre des deux.
    • Sélectionnez un entrepreneur en utilisant plusieurs critères, y compris le coût, la compétence, le professionnalisme et la réputation, et assurez-vous que l'entrepreneur est agréé et correctement assuré.
    • Obtenir ou demander à l'entrepreneur d'obtenir les permis requis de la ville et/ou du comté pour le projet en cours.
    • Formaliser la sélection de l'entrepreneur lors d'une réunion du conseil d'administration de la Hall Association, ce qui devrait être reflété dans le procès-verbal de la réunion du conseil.
    • Solliciter les contributions et l'adhésion de diverses disciplines au sein de la loge et de la Hall Association, et obtenir l'approbation du financement de la loge propriétaire lors d'une réunion déclarée de la loge, le compte d'investissement de la loge et le fonds désigné pour le bâtiment étant les sources de financement les plus courantes pour projets d'amélioration.
    • Obtenir l'approbation écrite appropriée du Comité des propriétés maçonniques de la Grande Loge pour les projets d'amélioration/réparation supérieurs au seuil de 25,000 XNUMX $, comme l'exige le Code maçonnique de Californie (CCM).
    • Avant le début de tout travail, obtenir un certificat d'assurance responsabilité (COI) de chaque entrepreneur, désignant l'Association Hall comme assuré supplémentaire et titulaire du certificat pour la couverture d'assurance responsabilité générale ; le COI doit également inclure une assurance contre les accidents du travail et une assurance responsabilité civile automobile pour les entrepreneurs utilisant des employés et des véhicules dans les locaux du hall.

    Si votre association de salle a des questions sur ces conseils et exigences de diligence raisonnable pour un dossier de demande d'améliorations complet, veuillez envoyer un e-mail immobilier@freemason.org

    Pour votre chevalet

    Utilisez ce contenu pour faire connaître les ressources fournies par la California Masonic Foundation, les Masonic Homes of California, etc.

    Services de santé maçonniques :

    Services au MCYAF tout au long de la vie

    Le Pavillon des Maisons Maçonniques

    Maisons maçonniques de Californie Ressources

    Réseau de valeur maçonnique


    Philanthropie maçonnique :

    Bibliothèque de ressources maçonniques de l'Ordre des jeunes

    Fondation maçonnique de Californie Cornerstone Society

    Liste de contrôle des officiers d'août

    Gardez le cap sur les affaires du lodge et préparez-vous pour les échéances importantes. Voici votre liste de contrôle d'août.

    Comité exécutif

    • Faites des plans pour que votre maître de loge, vos gardiens ou d'autres représentants assistent à la Communication annuelle Octobre. 

    Préfet principal, avec le comité exécutif

    • Identifier et approcher les membres pour 2024 postes d'officiers élus et nommés ouverts.
    • Exhortez le maître présomptif, les surveillants et le diacre principal à exécuter rapidement la compétence de leur maître maçon, s'il n'est pas déjà terminé.
    • Exhortez les officiers respectifs à répondre rapidement aux questions du capitaine, du directeur principal et du directeur junior.
    • Identifier et approcher les membres pour l'audit 2024, la rétention des membres et tout autre comité.
    • Établissez un calendrier pour 2024 et identifiez les leaders de l'événement.
    • Poursuivre la préparation du budget 2024.
    • Fixez la date d'installation et approchez l'officier d'installation, le maître de cérémonie et l'aumônier.
    • Passez en revue les progrès de tous les candidats vers l'avancement.
    • Présentez et votez Campagne de rétablissement de l'adhésion lors d'une réunion déclarée pour inviter les membres suspendus à revenir dans le giron. 

    Sous-directeur

    • Continuez à suivre la totalité des dons des agents au Fonds annuel, les agents donnant l'exemple par des dons qui représentent leur capacité ainsi que leur engagement envers nos programmes caritatifs.

    Secrétaire

    • Loge payante par habitant.
    • Préparer un rapport semestriel sur l'activité des membres, attendu en août.

    Trésorier

    • Loge payante par habitant.
    • Préparer un rapport semestriel sur l'activité des membres, attendu en août.
    • Si votre loge a des employés, déposez le formulaire 941 de taxe sur les salaires trimestriel (sauf si l'IRS a approuvé un dépôt annuel du formulaire 944, dû en février),
    • Si votre loge a des employés, déposez le formulaire trimestriel de taxe sur les salaires DE9/DE9C et déposez le formulaire DE88.
    • Vous utilisez le système de paie Paychex ? Paychex remplira et déposera les déclarations de revenus trimestrielles ci-dessus pour vous. Assurez-vous de traiter votre paie dans le système de paie Paychex sur une base mensuelle/régulière.
    • Commencer à préparer le rapport financier semestriel, attendu en août. Vous utilisez Intacct ? Le rapport est disponible et généré automatiquement à partir du système Intacct. Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour mettre à jour vos dossiers financiers dans Intacct. veuillez contacter les services financiers, Tel: 415-292-9170, servicesfinanciers@freemason.org.

    Association de la salle

    • Présenter le rapport semestriel, attendu en août.

    Des questions? Contactez les services aux membres au memberservices@freemason.org ou (415) 776-7000.

    question du mois

    Le mois dernier, nous avons demandé si votre lodge avait vu une augmentation des prospects au cours de la dernière année ?

    • 69% - Oui 
    • 31% - Non

    Voici votre prochaine question d'enquête

Together we make a profound difference

August 2023:
A Flood is Coming

Table of Contents
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
    Scroll to Top

    A Flood Is Coming (in a Good Way)

    It’s no secret that over the past few years, the Masons of California have made a concerted effort to share information about the fraternity more broadly—and people are noticing. Just this past month, the #IAMason campaign proved a massive success, with participating posts reaching nearly three times as many people as did last year’s campaign (see below for more details). With this greater reach comes (hopefully) a greater interest in Freemasonry, and (hopefully) a greater number of inquiries. And that’s something lodges need to prepare for, and fast.


    #ImAMason Campaign Roundup

    July marked the second annual #ImAMason campaign, our now-yearly social media effort to highlight the fraternity and the incredible meaning our members get from belonging. While we were primarily broadcasting to those in California, the effort garnered significant attention in foreign jurisdictions. This year, lodges from as far away as Kuala Lumpur and England participated. From simple Facebook status updates to videos and selfies, these posts got nearly 20,000 people engaging in discussion around the hashtag online. In total, these reached more than 6 million people worldwide.

    How does that stack up to last year’s reach? Well, 2023 saw more than 3x the numbers of people engaging in the campaign, which resulted in 3x the impact compared to last year’s campaign. Great work all who participated!

    80th Anniversary of D-Day Commemorated at the National Arboretum in Alrewas

    Photos taken at the National Arboretum in Alrewas on 6th June 2024 captured the poignant celebration of the 80th anniversary of D-Day.

    One of our members attended the event, accompanied by Dawley Town Council and Telford MIND, who arranged everything for us.

    The event was a wonderful tribute to the heroes of D-Day and an opportunity to reflect on the sacrifice and bravery of those who fought for freedom.

    Participants enjoyed a day filled with historical memories and moving ceremonies. The photographs taken during the event highlight the beauty and solemnity of the National Arboretum, a perfect setting to honor D-Day veterans.

    This memorable occasion reinforced the importance of remembering and celebrating the historical milestones that have shaped our world. #Freemasons #freemasonryuk🇬🇧 #ImAMason #MyFraternity
    ...

    1 0

    Thanks to members of Packer Commandery No. 23, Jim Thorpe, for assisting with the America250PA Liberty Tree planting in Bethlehem’s Colonial Industrial Quarter this weekend! Looking forward to sharing more photos from the day’s other plantings at Weissport Park and the George Taylor House.
    .
    .
    .
    #WeAreOneFamily #illuminati #masonicservice #appreciation #ImaMason #freemasonry #FreeandAcceptedMasons #Mason #MasterMason #SMIB #2B1ask1 #FromDarknessToLight #FaithHopeCharity #IAMWBK #WSFFWS #widowsons #BrazenPillarz #WSFF1 #CAWSPC #CAWSMRAPC #widowssonsfamily #SMIB #widowssonsworldwide #widowssonsworld #mansonicsymbol #widowssonsinternational #mansonicsymbol #totheeastontwowheels #augustratifying #mansonicbrotherhood #craftsmanship
    ...

    1 0

    This photo belongs to ...@.thetravelingman417 – just sharing their awesome content! MWB Tom Galyen and Lady June attending a Grand Lodge event!! Hear all about their travels on Episode 87: Proud to be a Mason!
    www.TravelingManPodcast.com
    .
    .
    .

    #freemason_world #ImAMason #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #warwickshire #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #eastpalestine417 #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #fridayfeeling #mason #scottishrite

    ZzHaveAgoodDayzZ
    ...

    3 0

    Lake drone during Gardena Moneta Lodge and Andres Bonifacio Lodge - interlodge Father’s Day camping excursion in 2024. #GML372 #abl879 #fathersdaycamping2024 #masonsofcalifornia #masonsofca #freemasonry #brotherhood #brotherhoodnolimit #atengs #weareone #fathersday #camping #imamason #wearemasons #freemasonstrong #fyp #trendingreels ...

    1 0

    Cigar’s on the lawn went great after our stated meeting last night!! Nothing better than some fellowship after a productive meeting!
    .
    .
    .

    #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    1 0

    A few East Palestine brothers on the Gateway Clipper in Pittsburgh, PA a few weekends ago!!! Nothing better than some fellowship together!
    .
    .
    .

    #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    0 0

    Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!
    .
    .
    .

    #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    0 0

    WB Chris Tyger visiting St. Alban Lodge No. 529’s stated meeting while in Philadelphia this week!! How good and how pleasant it is when Brothers dwell together in unity!!
    .
    .
    .

    #eastpalestine417 #ThisIsOhioFreemasonry #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #easternstar #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    0 0

    WB David Miller being installed as Master of Harmar Lodge No. 390!! Hear his whole story here on Episode 88: Fellowship!
    www.TravelingManPodcast.com
    .
    .
    .

    #podcast #ImAMason #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #warwickshire #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #eastpalestine417 #chapter #commandary #shriner #grotto #fridayfeeling #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    20 0

    Desvelando el Enigma: El Origen Poderoso de la Palabra Francmasones

    https://www.myfraternity.org/es/post/desvelando-el-enigma-el-origen-poderoso-de-la-palabra-francmasones

    #CuriosidadesMasónicas #Francmasones #HistoriaMasónica #OrigenDePalabras #TradiciónMasónica #MasoneríaEspeculativa #Constituciones1723 #EliasAshmole #JamesAnderson #ImAMason #MyFraternity
    ...

    4 0

    Our #ImAMason social media campaign is your chance to share why you`re proud to be a Mason. To participate, post a short message, picture, or video on your Facebook, Instagram, or TikTok channel explaining why Freemasonry is important to you-and include the hashtag #ImAMason in your caption.

    Already posted? You`re always welcome to share more photos of your favorite moments with your lodge! Seen here, members of Marin No. 191 gather together in their lodge located in San Rafael, CA: freemason.org/marin191

    #masonsofca
    ...

    1 0

    All sorts of things going on in this epic shot, and that’s just one way to say #ImAMason! 😁⚔️ This month, we’re asking all Masons to post a message or a short video on social media saying why they’re a Freemason and to include the hashtag #ImAMason in the caption!⁠

    #MasonsofCA

    Reposting masterfrank7474

    W Bro James Dalton at the Science Fiction and Fantasy Lodge demonstrating some of their unique ways of working. Hear about it on Episode 85: Podcasts, Masons, & Friends!
    www.TravelingManPodcast.com
    .
    .
    .

    #freemason_world #ImAMason #freemason #freemasonry #2b1ask1 #masonic #bluelodge #mastermason #square #compass #squareandcompass #UGLE #warwickshire #grandlodgeofohio #grandlodge #love #brotherlylove #freemasonsofamerica #ImAMason #brother #yorkrite #princehall #eastpalestine417 #commandary #shriner #grotto #masons #mason #scottishrite #freemasons
    ...

    0 0


    Turning Posts into Prospects

    Jordan Yelinek, the assistant grand secretary and director of member services, is bullish on what efforts like this mean for the membership going forward. “We’re going to see a significant influx in prospects and lodges need to be prepared for it,” Yelinek says. Over the past two years, the Grand Lodge of California has built a team of three “member advisors” whose job is to greet and vet prospects that make inquiries through the Grand Lodge (mostly online). Last year alone, more than 5,000 such prospects reached out through freemason.org. “We get people from all over the world reaching out to us,” Yelinek says. “And for those who live outside our state, we do our part to direct them to their own jurisdiction.” But for the most part, the people who contact Grand Lodge live here in California—and that’s when the real work begins. “Our team screens these prospects to make sure they’re eligible for membership, and out of those 5,000+ inquiries last year, we passed along around 4,200 prospective members to our lodges.”

    That’s an average of around 10 prospects per lodge—not an insignificant number and certainly enough to overwhelm a lodge that’s not prepared to handle it. When asked what a lodge can do to handle prospects, Yelinek recommends a version of the “Take 5 Method.”

    In this method, one prospect should have two hosts, who should welcome the prospect to three “get-to-know-you” meetings, which should be followed by inviting the prospect to a minimum of four lodge events. The whole process should take five months. Got that?

    • One prospect
    • Two hosts
    • Three meetings
    • Four lodge events
    • Five months

    The purpose of having two hosts is to provide redundancy in case one of the hosts is unable to attend one of the meetings. These hosts should be a part of a larger “welcoming committee” whose job it is to make first contact with a prospect following the Grand Lodge referral (or whenever someone approaches the lodge directly). Members of the welcoming committee should participate in the “get-to-know-you” meetings so that by the time the prospect attends a lodge event, they’ll be able to recognize three or four people and feel more at home.

    “Lodges shouldn’t feel that they have to follow this exact model,” Yelinek says. “Feel free to adapt as necessary.” But at the end of the day, lodges need to have some model for handling prospects in place, because, according to Yelinek, our outreach efforts “have only just scratched the surface.”

    Meet Justin Ortega, New Member Services Rep

    The Grand Lodge Membership Services department is growing—and that’s good news for lodges everywhere. With more capacity to receive and direct online prospects toward the lodges nearest (or most convenient) to them, we’ll make significant strides toward increasing membership statewide. Here, get to know our newest addition to the team, Justin Ortega.

    THE LEADER: Welcome, Justin. Can you tell us a little about yourself? What’s your connection to Freemasonry?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA: I was raised a Master Mason in 2022 after having my petition on hold since 2020 due to COVID-19, when my mother lodge was not conferring degrees. I’m currently a member of Surfside Lodge No. 112 in Oceanside, near San Diego, under the jurisdiction of the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of California, as well as a member of Mt. Moriah No. 4 Holy Royal Arch Chapter. This year, I’ve been appointed assistant secretary of my lodge. I’ve been blessed to learn about the office of the secretary and from a very experienced past master of our lodge with a tremendous amount of knowledge and wisdom. He teaches me something new every day and epitomizes the phrase “making good men better.” 

    THE LEADER: And how do you describe your job here with the Grand Lodge of California?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA: I’m now a membership advisor for the Masons of California, which I started just this past month. Prior to this job, I was on active-duty in the Marine Corps, where I deployed over 10 times to Iraq, Afghanistan, Malaysia, North Africa, Georgia, Japan, and Korea. After 22 years, I retired from the military and got my degree in human resource management and worked as an HR manager at a private security company before getting this fantastic opportunity working for the Masons of California.

    THE LEADER: What has been the most surprising (or interesting or exciting) thing you’ve discovered in your time working for GL?

    JUSTIN ORTEGA: There is a tremendous amount of infrastructure that supports the fraternity. I was very surprised to see how many great people from all walks of life are working tirelessly behind the scenes to support lodges and even individual brothers. The wonderful people that make up the membership services team are doing great things for the organization every single day. The social media and communications team do such a great job of educating the public on what Freemasonry is about. I truly believe that how the Grand Lodge of California does business will set the example for other Masonic organizations to follow in the future.


    Best Practices and Due Diligence Tips for Hall Associations Regarding Building Repair/Improvements

    If your lodge's Hall Association is considering or preparing to undergo repairs or improvements, it's important to dot all your I's and cross your Ts. Here, the Grand Lodge Real Estate team has compiled some helpful reminders to help you avoid common mistakes.

    • Obtain at least two or three similar and competitive bids on the same written scope of work.
    • Scope of work must be comprehensive and indicate the specifications on materials, equipment, etc.
    • For complex renovation projects, explore engaging professionals to produce design drawings, structural engineering reports, termite reports, and other pertinent building inspections as part of your due diligence.
    • Make sure all bid/contract documents reference the hall association and not the lodge as "customer" or "client."
    • Bid/contract documents must clearly define a project completion timeline and warranty information
    • Bid/contract document must contain progressive payment terms with the down payment not exceeding 10% of total project cost or $1,000, whichever is the lesser of the two.
    • Select a contractor using several criteria, including cost, competency, professionalism, and reputation, and ensure that contractor is licensed and adequately insured.
    • Obtain, or have the contractor obtain the required city and/or county permits for the project at hand.
    • Formalize contractor selection at a Hall Association board meeting, which should be reflected in the board meeting minutes.
    • Solicit input and buy-in from various disciplines from within the lodge and the Hall Association, and obtain approval for funding from the owner lodge at a lodge stated meeting, with the lodge’s investment account and building designated fund being the most common funding sources for improvements projects.
    • Obtain proper written approval from the Grand Lodge Masonic Properties Committee for improvements/repairs projects greater than the $25,000 threshold, as required by the California Masonic Code (CMC).
    • Before any work commences, obtain a certificate of liability insurance (COI) from each contractor, naming the Hall Association as additional insured and certificate holder for the general liability insurance coverage; the COI must also include worker’s comp and auto liability insurance coverage for contractors utilizing employees and vehicles on hall premises.

    If your hall association has any questions on these due diligence tips and requirements for a complete improvements application packet, please email realestate@freemason.org

    For Your Trestleboard

    Use this content to spread the word about resources provided by the California Masonic Foundation, the Masonic Homes of California, and more.

    Masonic Health Services:

    Services at MCYAF Across the Lifespan

    The Pavilion at the Masonic Homes

    Masonic Homes of California Resources

    Masonic Value Network


    Masonic Philanthropy:

    Masonic Youth Order Resources Library

    California Masonic Foundation Cornerstone Society

    August Officers' Checklist

    Stay on track of lodge business and prepare for important deadlines. Here’s your August checklist.

    Executive Committee

    • Make plans for your lodge master, wardens, or other representatives to attend the Annual Communication this October. 

    Senior Warden, along with Executive Committee

    • Identify and approach members for 2024 open elected and appointed officer positions.
    • Urge presumptive master, wardens, and senior deacon to perform their Master Mason’s proficiency soon, if not already completed.
    • Urge respective officers to answer the master, senior warden, and junior warden questions early.
    • Identify and approach members for the 2024 Audit, Membership Retention, and any other committees.
    • Set calendar for 2024 and identify event leaders.
    • Continue preparing 2024 budget.
    • Set installation date and approach installing officer, master of ceremonies, and chaplain.
    • Review all candidates’ progress toward advancement.
    • Introduce and vote on the Membership Restoration Campaign at a stated meeting to invite suspended members back into the fold. 

    Junior Warden

    • Continue tracking 100 percent officer giving to the Annual Fund, with officers setting an example through gifts that represent their capability as well as their commitment to our charitable programs.

    Secretary

    • Pay lodge per capita.
    • Prepare semi-annual report of membership activity, due in August.

    Treasurer

    • Pay lodge per capita.
    • Prepare semi-annual report of membership activity, due in August.
    • If your lodge has employees, file quarterly federal payroll tax form 941 (unless IRS has approved an annual filing of form 944, due in February),
    • If your lodge has employees, file quarterly state payroll tax form DE9/DE9C and deposit form DE88.
    • Using the Paychex Payroll system? Paychex will complete and file the above quarterly payroll tax returns for you.Make sure to process your payroll in the Paychex Payroll system on a monthly/regular basis.
    • Begin preparing semi-annual financial report, due in August. Using Intacct? The report is available and auto-generated from the Intacct system. If you need assistance to update your financial records in Intacct. please contact financial services, Tel: 415-292-9170, financialservices@freemason.org.

    Hall Association

    • Present semi-annual report, due in August.

    Questions? Contact Member Services at memberservices@freemason.org or (415) 776-7000.

    Question of the Month

    Last month, we asked has your lodge seen an increase in prospects over the past year?

    • 69% - Yes 
    • 31% - No

    Here's your next survey question